Department of English, College of LAS, University of Illinois

Undergraduate Advising

News & Notes


The English Department will be administering a variety of brand-new internships for our English department majors this fall. Find out more about English Department Internships and how to apply. For more information, contact Dr. Kirstin Wilcox at

Please note the Friday, August 29 deadline for English department journal internships and Odyssey Project internships.



I'd like to issue a warm welcome to all our new students, including first-semester freshmen and new transfers from on and off campus. We're thrilled to have you in the department and hope you'll find the work intellectually engaging, enjoyable, and relevant to your professional interests, whatever they may be. Feel free to ask questions, and be sure to talk to your classmates, your instructors, and your advisors about your interests so that you can pick up useful tips for success and development.



Congratulations to all of our recent (May and August) graduates. We are proud to recognize your accomplishments and we wish you much happiness and success in the future. Keep in touch!

Congratulations to recent English department graduate Yue (Sherry) Yuan, who has been awarded a Fulbright grant to participate in an English Teaching Assistantship in Taiwan.



Following are the results of the Spring 2014 Undergraduate Creative Writing Awards. Please join us in congratulating all those who won awards or received honorable mention.

Fiction Award Winners: Maryam Ghafoor, Devin Borgman, Amanda Toledo, Dylan Knox.

Fiction Honorable Mention: Brett Benischek, Alyssa Davison, David Huettner, Dylan O’Hearn.

Poetry Award Winners: Jessica Sung, Natalie Declerck, Laney Ontiveros.

Poetry Honorable Mention: Scott Blinkensderfer, Sophia Ege, Maryam Ghafoor, Muriel Kenfield-Kelleher, Angela Nostwick.


Congratulations to Katrina Halfaker (poetry) and John Milas (prose), this year's Junior Quinn Award winners! The Junior Quinn Awards recognize achievement and potential in Creative Writing, and provide scholarship money to be applied toward the expenses of a summer writing workshop.


Congratulations to the winners of the English Department Awards for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching for 2013-2014:

Shawn Gilmore (Lecturer)

Patrick McGrath (Graduate Teaching Assistant)

E. Jordan Sellers (Graduate Teaching Assistant)

Congratulations to the winners of these 2013-2014 LAS and campus teaching awards:

E. Jordan Sellers, LAS Humanities Council Teaching Excellence Award

Professor Dale Bauer, LAS Lynn Martin Award for Distuinguished Women Teachers and Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching